Writing

Saturday, May 30, 2015 - 4:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Skeeter Wilson will read from his novel, Crossing Rivers.  Set in East Africa, just before the onset of colonialism, Crossing Rivers tells the story of a young Maasai girl whose world is turned... Read more

Saturday, May 30, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Iowa City poet David Morice will read from his new book, Poetry City. Poetry City is a book of poetry and observations - listed chronologically and grouped in sections according to place- that... Read more

Sunday, May 31, 2015 - 3:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Please join us to celebrate the literary magazines created by students at three area High Schools: the Review at City High, Favonius at West, and Fingerprints from Washington High. In this special... Read more

Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 7:00pm
Iowa City Public Library

Please join us at the Iowa City Public Library for an event with New York Times Bestselling author Michael Perry!

Perry is one of our most popular authors for events - he’s a humorist,... Read more

Thursday, June 4, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Robin McLean will read from her award-winning short story collection, Reptile House. With characters trapped by blind ambitions and toxic relationships, these stories probe the dark underbelly of... Read more

Tuesday, June 9, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Maggie Messitt will read from The Rainy Season: Three Lives in the New South Africa.

“The Rainy Season is a delight of closely observed detail from the lives of three memorable characters... Read more

Wednesday, June 10, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

In this special Gay Pride Month event, Lambda Literary Award-winning Finalist Timothy Liu will read from his new book of poetry, Don’t Go Back to Sleep.

Don't Go Back To Sleep answers the... Read more

Friday, June 12, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Rebecca Dinerstein will read from her stunning debut novel, The Sunlit Night—which Jonathan Safran Foer calls as "lyrical as a poem, psychologically rich as a thriller." Dinerstein's much buzzed-... Read more

Sunday, June 14, 2015 - 2:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Liz Morrison will read from her romance novel, Soul Mates: When Romance and Reincarnation Collide. Morrison is also the author of The Second Chance, and Flashback. Liz Morrison graduated from the... Read more

Sunday, June 14, 2015 - 4:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

National Book Award Finalist Emily St. John Mandel will read from her acclaimed novel, Station Eleven. Called one of the Best Books of the Year by many publications including The Washington Post,... Read more

Monday, June 15, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Michael Dennis Browne will read from his latest collection of poems, The Voices, from Carnegie Mellon University Press.

Browne is the author of numerous books, including Things I Can’t Tell... Read more

Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Iowa Summer Writing Festival Instructors Melanie Braverman and Michael Morse will read from their poetry.

Melanie Braverman will read from Red, winner of the Perugia Press Prize, the... Read more

Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Jim Heynen will read from his new short story collection, Ordinary Sins. From a bar hosting its nightly Sad Hour to the moonlit sandbox of a retired army general, Heynen's new collection of micro... Read more

Thursday, June 18, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

In this special Pride Month event, George Hodgman will read from his memoir, Bettyville.

Bettyville is about what happened when Hodgman, a magazine and book editor of many years, left New... Read more

Monday, June 22, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Grinnell College Writer-in-Residence Dean Bakopoulos will read from his highly anticipated new novel, Summerlong, a deft and hilarious exploration of the simmering tensions beneath the surface of... Read more

Tuesday, June 23, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Writers’ Workshop graduate Austin Bunn will read from BRINK, a brilliant, inventive debut story collection in the vein of Kevin Wilson and Wells Tower.

Brimming with life and unforgettable... Read more

Thursday, June 25, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

In a special event sponsored by The University of Iowa’s International Writing Program, Kiki Petrosino, Alise Ganieva and Karim Alrawi will read from their work.

Kiki Petrosino is the... Read more

Sunday, June 28, 2015 - 2:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Iowa City author Gordon Strayer will present a program with Mark Yuskis on his witty, discerning memoir, Snippets. The books presents glimpses into a childhood on the Saskatchewan Prairie, time... Read more

Tuesday, July 7, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Iowa Writers’ Workshop graduates Michelle Falkoff and Paula Morris will read from their work. Michelle Falkoff will read from her Young Adult Novel, Playlist for the Dead. Part mystery, part love... Read more

Wednesday, July 8, 2015 - 7:00pm
Prairie Lights Bookstore

Spoken word artist Dasha Kelly will read from her new novel, Almost Crimson. With the poetic dexterity of Nikki Giovanni and an unforgettable cast of compassionate characters, Dasha Kelly examines... Read more

Calendar