BAND 141: An exhibit celebrating over 140 years of Hawkeye marching excellence, tradition, and community at the University of Iowa

BAND 141: An exhibit celebrating over 140 years of Hawkeye marching excellence, tradition, and community at the University of Iowa
Friday, September 17, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm

65 more date(s)

Thursday, September 9, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, September 10, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, September 13, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, September 20, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, September 23, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, September 24, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, September 27, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, September 30, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, October 1, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, October 4, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, October 7, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, October 8, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, October 11, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, October 15, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, October 18, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, October 21, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, October 22, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, October 25, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, October 28, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, October 29, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, November 1, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, November 4, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, November 5, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, November 8, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, November 9, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, November 10, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, November 11, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, November 12, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, November 15, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, November 16, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, November 17, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, November 18, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, November 19, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, November 22, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, November 23, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, November 24, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, November 26, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, November 29, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, December 2, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, December 3, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Monday, December 6, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Wednesday, December 8, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Thursday, December 9, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Friday, December 10, 2021 - 7:00am to 10:00pm
Voxman Music Building
93 East Burlington Street, Iowa City, IA 52240
Rita Benton Music Library
Katie Buehner
319-335-3088
Cost: 
Free

Stop by the Voxman Music Building for BAND 141, an exhibit featuring the Hawkeye Marching Band. Director Eric Bush donated a significant collection of materials from the Band’s history, including photographs, drill charts, papers, scrapbooks, uniform pieces, audio and video recordings, and other memorabilia to the Rita Benton Music Library in 2020. The exhibit draws from these donated materials, as well as several other collections held in University Archives such as the UI Yearbooks, Charles B. Righter Papers, Scottish Highlander Records, and the Daily Iowan archives. 

The exhibit opened September 3. Start your visit on the first floor by the School of Music offices where you can explore the band’s history through its thirteen directors, core song list, innovative formations, and wide ranging uniforms. The exhibit continues on the second floor alongside the Recital Hall, highlighting the Band’s drum majors, alumni, the Golden Girl, and Scottish Highlanders. And lastly, keep your eye online for certain exhibit pieces either on the HMB’s social media feeds or the Music Library’s website. 

Go Hawks!

The exhibit is available to view for free during Voxman Music Building's open hours during the Fall 2021 semester: 

Monday - Thursday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday - Sunday: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the sponsoring department or contact person listed in advance of the event.

Calendar