BAND 141: An exhibit celebrating over 140 years of Hawkeye marching excellence, tradition, and community at the University of Iowa

BAND 141: An exhibit celebrating over 140 years of Hawkeye marching excellence, tradition, and community at the University of Iowa
Saturday, September 18, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm

25 more date(s)

Saturday, September 11, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, September 12, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, September 19, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, September 25, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, September 26, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, October 2, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, October 3, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, October 9, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, October 10, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, October 16, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, October 17, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, October 23, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, October 24, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, October 30, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, October 31, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, November 6, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, November 7, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, November 13, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, November 14, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, November 20, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, November 21, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, November 27, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, November 28, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Saturday, December 4, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Sunday, December 5, 2021 - 10:00am to 10:00pm
Voxman Music Building
93 East Burlington Street, Iowa City, IA 52240
Rita Benton Music Library
Katie Buehner
319-335-3088
Cost: 
Free

Stop by the Voxman Music Building for BAND 141, an exhibit featuring the Hawkeye Marching Band. Director Eric Bush donated a significant collection of materials from the Band’s history, including photographs, drill charts, papers, scrapbooks, uniform pieces, audio and video recordings, and other memorabilia to the Rita Benton Music Library in 2020. The exhibit draws from these donated materials, as well as several other collections held in University Archives such as the UI Yearbooks, Charles B. Righter Papers, Scottish Highlander Records, and the Daily Iowan archives. 

The exhibit opened September 3. Start your visit on the first floor by the School of Music offices where you can explore the band’s history through its thirteen directors, core song list, innovative formations, and wide ranging uniforms. The exhibit continues on the second floor alongside the Recital Hall, highlighting the Band’s drum majors, alumni, the Golden Girl, and Scottish Highlanders. And lastly, keep your eye online for certain exhibit pieces either on the HMB’s social media feeds or the Music Library’s website. 

Go Hawks!

The exhibit is available to view for free during Voxman Music Building's open hours during the Fall 2021 semester: 

Monday - Thursday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday - Sunday: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the sponsoring department or contact person listed in advance of the event.

Calendar