Brinton's Famous Moving Pictures: The Emergence of Early Film in America

Brinton's Famous Moving Pictures: The Emergence of Early Film in America
Monday, April 23, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm

58 more date(s)

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, April 27, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, April 30, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 4, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 7, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 9, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 11, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 18, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 21, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 23, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 25, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 28, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 31, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 1, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, June 4, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 6, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 8, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, June 11, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 15, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, June 18, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 22, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, June 25, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 27, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 29, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, July 2, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, July 6, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, July 9, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, July 13, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, July 16, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, July 20, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, July 27, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, July 30, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, August 3, 2018 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
University of Iowa Main Library
125 West Washington Street, Iowa City, IA 52242
Main Library Gallery
Connor Hood
319-384-4395

The Brinton Collection contains films, slides, projectors, papers, and other documents from the life and career of William Franklin Brinton of Washington, Iowa. Brinton was an itinerant showman, traveling from Texas to Minnesota to project slides, film, and stage other entertainments during the years 1895–1909. He was also the manager of the Graham Opera House in Washington, which is still an active movie theater and was recently declared the longest continually operating cinema in the world. Brinton was an eccentric and energetic individual, and the collection not only preserves some of the earliest commercially available film, it also contains material related to Brinton’s experimental interests, such as his passion for designing flying machines long before human flight became a reality.

The exhibit will be open to the public April 23–August 3, 2018. See the Main Library Gallery site for daily hours.

Gallery Hours

  • Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 9 a.m.–6 p.m.
  • Tuesday: 9 a.m.–8 p.m.
  • Saturday and Sunday: 1–5 p.m.

See the Gallery site for more details.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the sponsoring department or contact person listed in advance of the event.

Calendar