Brinton's Famous Moving Pictures: The Emergence of Early Film in America

Brinton's Famous Moving Pictures: The Emergence of Early Film in America
Monday, April 23, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm

28 more date(s)

Saturday, April 28, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, April 29, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, May 5, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, May 6, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, May 13, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, May 19, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, May 20, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, May 26, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, May 27, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, June 2, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, June 3, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, June 9, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, June 10, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, June 16, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, June 17, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, June 23, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, June 24, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, June 30, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, July 1, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, July 7, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, July 8, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, July 14, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, July 15, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, July 21, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Saturday, July 28, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Sunday, July 29, 2018 - 1:00pm to 5:00pm
University of Iowa Main Library
125 West Washington Street, Iowa City, IA 52242
Main Library Gallery
Connor Hood
319-384-4395

The Brinton Collection contains films, slides, projectors, papers, and other documents from the life and career of William Franklin Brinton of Washington, IA. Brinton was an itinerant showman, travelling from Texas to Minnesota to project slides, film, and stage other entertainments during the years 1895-1909. He was also the manager of the Graham Opera House in Washington, which is still an active movie theater today and was recently declared the longest continually operating cinema in the world. Brinton was an eccentric and energetic individual, and the collection not only preserves some of the earliest commercially available film, it also contains material related to Brinton’s experimental interests, such as his passion for designing flying machines long before human flight became a reality.

The exhibit will be open to the public April 23rd-August 3rd, 2018. See the Main Library Gallery site for daily hours.

Gallery Hours

  • Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 9am-6pm
  • Tuesday: 9am-8pm
  • Saturday and Sunday: 1pm-5pm

See the Gallery site for more details.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the sponsoring department or contact person listed in advance of the event.

Calendar