A Hub, a Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City

A Hub, a Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm

16 more date(s)

Tuesday, August 30, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 6, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 13, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, October 11, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, October 18, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, October 25, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 8, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 22, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 29, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, December 13, 2022 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
University of Iowa Main Library
125 West Washington Street, Iowa City, IA 52242
Main Library Gallery
Sara Pinkham
319-467-1805

Main Library Gallery exhibition:

The International Writing Program (IWP) has brought close to 1,600 writers from more than 150 countries to the University of Iowa since 1967. In celebration of the program’s 55th anniversary, the exhibition A Hub, a Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City tells the story of IWP’s genesis, its role in cultural diplomacy, Iowa City as a site of literary praxis and global networking, and the images of Iowa that writers have carried home with them as represented in their work.

Curated by Nataša Ďurovičová and Lisa Gardinier, the exhibition includes University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections & Archives materials such as the Paul Engle Papers, the International Writing Program Records, the Toothpaste/Coffee House Press Records, and more. Items from the University of Iowa Libraries circulating collection, IWP’s Shambaugh House, and friends of IWP also make an appearance, in addition to a selection of large portraits of writers by photographer Thomas Langdon.

MAIN LIBRARY GALLERY HOURS:

Monday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Tuesday: 9 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Wednesday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Thursday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Saturday: 1 p.m. – 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. – 5 p.m.

Admission is always FREE. The exhibition will be open Aug. 22 - Dec. 16, 2022. 
Please note that the Main Library Gallery will be closed on the following University of Iowa holidays during the fall semester: Sept. 5 (Labor Day), Nov. 24-25 (Thanksgiving).

Because the Main Library Gallery is an educational space on campus, there may occasionally be classes visiting during open hours. Thank you for your understanding.

The easiest way to access the Main Library Gallery is via the north entrance of the Main Library. Find parking options here: lib.uiowa.edu/locations/main/parking

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the sponsoring department or contact person listed in advance of the event.

Calendar