Main Library Gallery Exhibit: Building Our Own Community: 50 Years of the Latino Native American Cultural Center, Founded by Chicano and American Indian Students in 1971

Main Library Gallery Exhibit: Building Our Own Community: 50 Years of the Latino Native American Cultural Center, Founded by Chicano and American Indian Students in 1971
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm

61 more date(s)

Thursday, April 8, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, April 9, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, April 12, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, April 14, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, April 15, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, April 16, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, April 19, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, April 21, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, April 23, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, April 26, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, April 28, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, April 29, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, April 30, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 3, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 6, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 7, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 10, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 12, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 13, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 14, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 17, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 21, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 24, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, May 26, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, May 27, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, May 28, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, May 31, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 2, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 3, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 4, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, June 7, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 11, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, June 14, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 16, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 18, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, June 21, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, June 25, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, June 28, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 30, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 1, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, July 2, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, July 7, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 8, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, July 9, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, July 12, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 15, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, July 16, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, July 19, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, July 23, 2021 - 9:00am to 6:00pm
University of Iowa Main Library
125 West Washington Street, Iowa City, IA 52242
Main Library Gallery
Sara Pinkham
319-467-1805
Cost: 
Free

In 2021, the Latino Native American Cultural Center (LNACC) celebrates its 50th anniversary. Created in 1971 by Chicano and American Indian students, LNACC has a long and important history at the University of Iowa. This exhibition shares that history in depth, and explores its establishment in the 1970s, its activism and programs, and much more. LNACC continues to be an active advocate, supporter, and resource for Latino and Native American students at the University of Iowa.

“The Center over the years has provided shelter, friends, music, theater, dance, poetry, books, and many, many discussions which were useful to balance the one-sided education most Chicanos and Native Americans received elsewhere.” -Antonio Zavala, co-founder of LNACC.

This Main Library Gallery exhibit at the University of Iowa Libraries was curated by librarians Rachel Garza Carreón and Christopher Ortega.

Visit the Exhibition (Open through July 23, 2021)

Main Library Gallery Open Hours (Walk-In) - General Public and Campus Community
Monday: 9:00am – 6:00pm
Tuesday: 9:00am – 8:00pm
Wednesday: 9:00am – 6:00pm
Thursday: 9:00am – 6:00pm
Friday: 9:00am – 6:00pm
Saturday: 1:00pm – 5:00pm
Sunday: 1:00pm – 5:00pm

Visiting the Main Library Gallery is always free, and all are welcome.

Please contact the Main Library Gallery with any questions: lib.uiowa.edu/gallery/contact.

Beginning June 1, the Main Library will no longer require an Iowa One Card for building entry. Guests from the general public and the University community are welcome to stop by the Gallery any time during open hours. No appointments are needed. Please wear a mask until vaccinated, or if experiencing COVID-19 symptoms.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the sponsoring department or contact person listed in advance of the event.

Calendar